I Still Have a Lot to Learn

It’s almost three years since I learn nursing things in university for the first time. I haven’t had a task or anything that makes me go to a hospital to practice something, but I already done some things using what I had learnt for past years. First time was easy, just measured blood pressure to kindergarten kids for an assignment. Second was easy too. My neighbor came to my place and asked an advice about a cold she had that time.

Third was a bit confusing. My neighbor came again. This time, she got some nodules on her face, especially mouth and eyes. The nodules became red and I just did some assessment needed. Based on what she told me and what I know, there’s something wrong with her immunity, so she had a sudden allergic attack. That time, I recommended her an antihistamine and she said she has a CTM (chlortrimethone). I told her to come back the next day so I can see the result. Well, for the next day, it didn’t work -_- So I gave her my dextamine (consists of corticosteroid and antihistamine) and mid day, she got better and the nodules became smaller than before. I told her to avoid foods and things that can give her allergic reaction for some time and I followed her up until she really healed.

The fourth time was a bit something. I was going to some place with Yossie when we finished our class and we saw an accident in front of us. We ran to see if someone’s hurt and yup, one girl was hurt. The accident involved one man and two school girls, the three of them rode motorbike. I checked one by one. The man was okay and so the other girl. The hurted girl cried because she had some wounds in her hand and foot, although those were not too serious. I asked Yossie to come back to our faculty to go to the pre-hospital care unit there (because it really is near from our position that time) and asked for some bandages (of course, it’s medical faculty, how come we don’t have any bandages?) since I didn’t bring mine. While Yossie went away, I helped the girl to cleaned all wounds. I didn’t have anything that time except mineral water and tissue (lecturer, please forgive me), so all that I could do was just cleaning those wounds using what I had, especially to calmed the girl. -_- She was so panic and asked me whether the wound will leave traces or not. Geezzz.. That’s not the time to ask something like that! But then I checked her wound and ensure that it won’t. So, she relieved. After several minutes, Yossie came back and brought some small band aids. I asked her, “Why you only bring small ones?”

“They don’t have bigger ones. Even for bandage, they don’t have it.”

Without any longer comments, I started to close the wounds with wet tissue and band aids and I told the girl to immediately change the dressing to the proper ones because these ones are only for emergency needs and her house is quite far, so it’s impossible to let the fresh wounds have any contact with open air. I also didn’t forget to tell her if the wound getting worse, she should immediately visit a doctor because the risk of infection (lecturer, please forgive me).

And the last time, the fifth, was hurt so much. I was with my friend, rode a motorbike and we had a little accident too caused by a freshman. I fell from motorbike and injured my wrist badly that I couldn’t use my right hand at all and I could cry everytime my wrist was going to have a flexion because the pain was really something. I could not take a bath properly, I could not lift spoon when I ate and pen when I wrote a note in class, even when I walked normally, it hurted so much. So, when I already at home, I tried to find something that could help me to support my wrist and I found my triangle cloth that I used to use for practice. I folded here and there and used it to wrapped my hand as neat as I could and it worked! I could use my right hand without any pain. I know the principles are RICE (Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation), but since it didn’t swell, I could only do the compression and rest. I decided to keep my hand like that for 2 days to let it healed itself. It didn’t hurt so much after that when I ate, took a bath, and any other activities that need the help from right hand.

Maybe a bit messy, but as long as it functions well to support my wrist, I don't care :D

Maybe a bit messy, but as long as it functions well to support my wrist, I don’t care 😀

And when two days passed, I opened it and it didn’t hurt anymore. Hoooraaaayyy!!!! I already decided before if the injury get worse in pain and swell, I will visit a doctor, but since it was not like that, I didn’t have to. Why didn’t I immediately visit a doctor after the accident? Well, I assessed myself especially for the sound of cracking, if there was one, it means I broke my hand; if there was a haemorrhage inside of my wrist, it means my muscles injured badly; if I couldn’t move my fingers, it must be something really serious, and so on, but I didn’t have any of those, so I postponed my meeting with a doctor (lecturer, please forgive me for my wrong doing if you think so). Even I had a thought of going to massage my hand (stupid huh? I forgot what I learned in lecture for a moment that time, sorry lecturer).

Well, I know maybe my knowledge in nursing is questionable, but I still have a long road to learn. I never touch any patients in a hospital before because we’re not allowed to until next year, the fourth year or the year after next year. -_- But I promise to study well and if I can not do it properly (helping people), I will ask someone to help me (of course). At least, we can learn something from mistakes, right? As long as not always mistakes as the outcomes.

Leave a comment